2014 Results

Results of the 2014 Wisconsin Crystal Growing Contest

The Wisconsin competition judging took place on June 5, 2014.

Best overall

1st place: Rainee Roger, Laura Smith (Flambeau HS, Tony);
2nd place: Payton Goetz, Joseph Robl (Omro HS);
3rd place: Cassidy Colby (Turner HS, Beloit).

Best quality

1-2 (tie): Megan Jordan (Clinton HS);
1-2 (tie): Clara Neeb (Montello HS).

Best teacher’s crystal

Jasmin Gibson (Verona Area HS).

Organizer’s favorite crystal

Kyrat Krin (Blair-Taylor HS, Blair).

Special prize for Crystal Art

Kaitlin Loomis (Turner HS, Beloit).

A panel of six judges, both chemists and crystallographers, evaluated crystals from 20 schools;
Dr. Galina Bikzhanova (Covance, former Sigma Aldrich)
Brian Dolinar (UW-Madison)
Dr. Dan Frankel (Bruker)
Dr. Ilia Guzei (UW-Madison, American Crystallographic Association, International Union of Crystallography)
Dr. Paula Piccoli (former Argonne Photon Source)
Dr. Nathan Reynolds (Sigma Aldrich)

and selected the winners in all categories.